The Dunvant Male Choir Young Singer of the Year Competition is back for 2022.

We launched The Welsh Musical Theatre Young Singer of the Year Competition in 2003. The Competition has taken place every year except 2019 and its name and format changed in 2020.

From 2020, the Young Singer Competition changed its approach and we now focus on 15–19 year old singers from the Swansea, Neath & Port Talbot and Carmarthenshire areas and that means we want people like you to apply.

This year, you stand a chance of winning £300 and the opportunity to perform live on stage with us in one of our 2023 concerts. The runners up in the final will each receive £100.

We've designed the competition to support young people like you, in our local area, who are looking to begin a career in music in ANY genre not just classical.

The most recent winners Lauren Elizabeth Williams (2020) and Thomas Crooke Taylor (2021) have both appeared as guest artists our concerts and through the competition have progressed their musical and singing careers.

How does it work?

Everyone who enters gets to audition in front of our judges and all types of music are welcome whether it be classical or from a big West End show.

Audtions are held at Gowerton Comprehensive School on October 1st from 10am - 4pm.

The final will be held at Ebenezer Chapel in Dunvant on November 10th 2022 and the winner will be announced shortly after.

On the audtion day, you'll be competing against other people in your age group and you will be asked to perform both of your entry songs.

You'll get 10 minutes practice and then you'll be performing live on stage either your own accompanist or one of our offical Dunvant Male Choir accompanists, in front of our two judges for 2022 Ros Evans and Helen John.

You'll be judged on 2 criteria, stage presence and of course, your singing talent.

For extra support, you're welcome to bring along friends and family to cheer you on as you go for your place in the final.

It doesn't matter if you've tried before, you're welcome to enter again.

Just click the "Apply Now" button at the bottom of the page and submit your entry.


Previous Competition Winners

2003 Craig Yates
2004 Hannah Lake
2005 Hayley Gallivan / Craig Thaxton
2006 Connie Fisher
2007 Joanne Dennis
2008 Christopher Orton
2009 Catherine Mort
2010 Michael Riseley
2011 Peter Horton
2012 Michael Rees
2013 Holly Anna Lloyd
2014 Luke McCall
2015 Jodi Bird
2016 Michael Lowe
2017 Ben Thomas
2018 Emily Barrett
2019 -
2020 Lauren Elizabeth Williams
2021 Thomas Crook Taylor
2022 It could be you!
Shopping Basket
Your Basket Is Empty
Continue shopping
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram